Launch and Server Troubles.

First, before I get onto the main topic, WELCOME TO THE BLOG! I just launched it earlier tonight and so far it seems to be going well. Again, don’t expect daily posts or anything up on here, this is just somewhere for me to post now and then. A good way to think of it would be an extended personal Twitter I guess!

Anyway, something I really wanted to post about quickly was the ‘Green Valley’ Minecraft server. Many people have asked me why it’s all done through a membership system and not just as a free roam for those who wish to log on. Well, there are two main reasons. The first would be that the server I own/have bought can only take around 30-40 people without lag, and while that is still very impressive, I don’t want to have any strain on it at any time to make sure those who are playing are having the most enjoyable experience possible. The other of course would be griefing prevention. I needn’t say anymore on it, but to put it bluntly, we had our first experience of griefing today and while it’s already fully been fixed, we learnt a few things from it. The main one is that no matter who you choose, there is ALWAYS a risk so a good judge of character is needed in the selection process. More than I thought anyway.

The other point would just be the administration lesson really. Put it this way, backups are your friend 😉

Anyway, one good thing that came from this is that during the next wave of invites there will be one extra spot, so look out for that!

-Yoshi

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t seem to access this post from my iphone!!

  2. Yeah it’s a shame that people do that. Still 1step forward and 2 steps back… Wait thats wrong 100steps forward and only 1step back. You get the picture

Leave a Reply

